Category Archives: Blog Posts

DC TV Podcasts: Spinal Cord Research Fundraiser

DC TV PODCASTS: SPINAL CORD RESEARCH FUNDRAISER ON JUNE 11!

Podcasters assemble to help cure spinal injuries in a live marathon event.


The DC TV Podcasting Network is teaming up with the Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation to help cure spinal cord ailments on Saturday, June 11, 2016.

Founded by the late Man of Steel himself, the mission of the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation is to discover and fund innovative research as well as improving the quality of life for people who live with paralysis. We here at DC TV Podcasts couldn’t be more proud to be partnering up with the Foundation for this important cause in advancing research for spinal cord injuries.

Here is how you as a listener can help and participate on Saturday, June 11, 2016, while also enjoying your favorite DC television podcasts for Arrow, The Flash, Gotham, Supergirl, Legends of Tomorrow as well as DC Movies.

The podcasting fundraising event will be hosted via Mixlr at mixlr.com/dctvpodcasts and will begin at 11 AM PST/2 PM EST. The event will feature the great minds of DC TV Podcasts with hosts from Quiver: The Green Arrow Podcast, The Flash Podcast, Legends of Gotham, Supergirl RadioLegends of Tomorrow Podcast and DC Movies Podcast.

The event will continue from 11 AM PST/2 PM EST into the evening with all six individual shows. The marathon will then conclude with a special DC TV Podcasts Assemble show featuring hosts from all six podcasts.

Fundraiser Schedule

Here is the following schedule for when all the live shows will begin:

Quiver: The Green Arrow Podcast at 11 AM PST (2 PM EST) with Michael Cohen and Amanda Konkin.

DC Movies Podcast at 12 PM PST (3 PM EST) with Chris Doucher and Ashley Robinson.

Supergirl Radio at 1 PM PST (4 PM EST) with Rebecca Johnson, Carly Lane and Morgan Glennon.

The Flash Podcast at 2 PM PST (5 PM EST) with Andy Behbakht, Lauren Gallaway and guest host Jason Inman.

Legends of Tomorrow Podcast at 3 PM PST (6 PM EST) with Morgan Glennon and TBA hosts

Legends of Gotham at 4 PM PST (7 PM EST) with Bill Meeks and Anne Marie DeSimone

DC TV Podcasts: Assemble Show at 5 PM PST (8 PM EST) with multiple hosts of DC TV Podcasts TBA.

How to Donate

Starting today, as well as during the marathon, head over to DCTVPodcasts.com/Fundraiser to find out how you can make a donation to the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation.

We at DC TV Podcasts hope to see you in the live chat and enjoy all the exciting programming we have in store for you! Nothing would make us happier than our listeners donating to this significant cause and joining us at DC TV Podcasts in helping the Foundation in funding cures and research for paralysis.

DISCLAIMER: Any podcasts that are represented on DC TV Podcasts are fan podcasts and are not affiliated with DC Comics, Warner Bros. TV, Warner Bros. Pictures, DC Entertainment, The CW, and FOX.

About the Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation:

The Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation is dedicated to curing spinal cord injury by funding innovative research, and improving the quality of life for individuals living with paralysis through grants, information and advocacy. For more information, please visit https://www.christopherreeve.org/

About DC Television Podcasts:

DC TV Podcasts is a podcast network that features a collection of high-quality and popular podcasts devoted to DC Comics television series, such as The CW’s Arrow, The Flash, Supergirl, DC’s Legends of Tomorrow, FOX’s Gotham, as well as the DC Movies in the DC Extended Universe! Join the hosts of Quiver Podcast, The Flash Podcast, Legends of Gotham, Supergirl Radio, Legends of Tomorrow Podcast and DC Movies Podcast every week for news, commentary and opinions about these comic book shows as well as DC Comics films.

New Year…? New Podcast!

Our listeners have been begging us for years to watch the classic ABC series LOST. We finally are, and we’re podcasting about it! Want to join in on the fun? All the info you need is right below. During the Once Upon a Time/Gotham hiatus we’re recording at least one new episode every week LIVE on YouTube, then pushing out an episode of the audio podcast once every two weeks. We hope you’ll join us.

Logo-Sidebar

Bill Meeks & Anne Marie DeSimone have a confession: They’ve never watched LOST. Each week they’ll dive deep on each episode to discuss theories, thoughts, and theories about the classic ABC series with fresh eyes (and a lot of laughs).

RSS Feed | iTunes | YouTube Playlist

 

Come Ring in the New Year… WITH US!

We understand a lot of people might have plans on New Year’s Eve this year, but we don’t! Hence, we’re inviting any of our Patrons who might want to attend to join us for a rocking New Year’s Eve live stream!

We’ll have fun, stories, and plenty of Magic Juice(tm). Hope you can make it.

Any and all Patrons can join the Google+ Hangout. We’ll post a join link over on our Patreon page around 10:15pm EST.

The live stream itself will start around 10:30PM EST, and go until some time after the ball drops at midnight.

As always you can jump in the chat (even if you aren’t a Patron) while you watch at http://live.universebox.com.

Hope to see you there!

Bill and Anne Marie

Top 8 Things We Learned from John Stephens About Gotham Season 2

This week we talked to Gotham Executive Producer John Stephens about the RISE OF THE VILLAINS and Gotham’s 2nd season. He dropped a number of bombs and we recommend you catch the whole interview above, but check out our favorite factoids from the interview:

  1. Mr. Freeze will make his debut in Episode 12. His wife’s tragic fate will be a big part of the origin, but Stephens assured us Gotham would have it’s own unique spin.
  2. Episode 3 is called “The Last Laugh”, and was written by John Stephens himself!
  3. Oswald Cobblepot, aka The Penguin, ended Season 1 as the self-proclaimed King of Gotham. He’ll have his time in the sun, but expect a quick fall from grace which will force our favorite flippered psychopath to reevaluate and refocus through much of Season 2.
  4. The Cave Bruce & Alfred found at the end of Season 1 will become a huge location throughout Season 2, but that doesn’t mean Bruce becomes a brooding homebody. Expect him to be very active in Gotham (both socially and in the shadows).
  5. Renee Montoya and Crispus Allen might be out as series regulars, but with the right story line (and the actor’s schedules permitting) Stephens would love to see them back for an arc somewhere down the line.
  6. Season 2 will be more serialized than Season 1, allowing side characters like Bullock, Alfred, and others to get fully fleshed-out character arcs throughout the season. No “one and dones” this season!
  7. Stephens think Barbara Kean’s villainous turn will be a fan-favorite this season. She’ll be working closely with Jerome…
  8. Jerome! Stephens remained coy when it comes to whether or not the teenage killer we met in The Blind Fortune Teller last season will become the “Clown Prince of Crime” we all know and love, but he did stress that Jerome will introduce the Joker “ideology” to Gotham throughout Season 2. Look at this Joker!

Continue reading

DC Power Hour: Gotham and Supergirl

Ever since the upfronts and the revelation that Gotham and Supergirl would be airing in the same time slot as Gotham (8pm on Mondays thank you very much) people have been in an uproar.

Who is going to win?

Gotham versus Supergirl.

Why does everything have to be a competition? Shouldn’t comic fans be THRILLED that another comic based show is in primetime?

One article from Entertainment Weekly caught my attention (and not in a good way):

Biggest time period catfight this fallSupergirl vs. Gotham at Mondays at 8 p.m. DC Comics critics have always said the company is its own worst enemy, but this fall it’s literally true! –  “Upfronts 2015: The Best & Worst Fall TV Decisions.”

These Shows? Enemies? NO! I whole-heartedly DISAGREE! They are aimed at two very different audiences. That is BRILLIANT. Both shows are doing something that the comic industry wants…bringing in fans who have never cared about comics.

Supergirl is bright, shiny, fun, and being led by a Glee star. It’s aimed at tween and teenage girls (Heck, 20-somethings) as a showcase for the comic-tinged girl power they’ve been looking for. This is a strategic move to increase the female comic fan base.

However, this is not Gotham’s agenda. Gotham doesn’t hide the fact that it is dark, bloody, and twisted.  This is a show about the dark underbelly of a city that necessitates the vigilante superhero Batman, while serving the police procedural crowd. This show got people LIKE ME to watch a comic show because it starts before the capes come out.


 Let’s do a little comparison.

First – The Gotham trailer from May 2014

Blood. Storyline teases. Guns. The Wayne Murder. Evil laughs. People being hit with baseball bats. 4 classic (and 1 new) villains introduced. Darkness (but there will be light). Ominous music and sound effects. All in 30 seconds.

Next – The Supergirl trailer from May 2015

A quick background on Superman. Poppy music. Young professionals. Jimmy (excuse me, James) Olsen. A flight lesson. A feminist lecture. Chinese takeout. Dress up. A bulletproof discovery. Another Superman lesson. An emotional smackdown. The shirt rip. A girl-power theme song. Explosion. Up, up and away. All in six and a half minutes.

These two shows aren’t on the same planet, let alone aimed at the same demo.


While I’m not saying the audiences for these 2 shows can’t crossover (hello DVR!), I don’t see them as direct competition fighting to “win the hour”.

Oh, and ladies? If you’re looking for girl power try these Gotham City Sirens on for size:

Selina. A teenage runaway who works both sides of the law.

Selina Kyle - Gotham vs. Supergirl - www.legendsofgotham.com

Lee. Or Dr. Thompkins who has helped Jim Gordon solve some major crimes.

Dr. Leslie Thompkins - Gotham vs. Supergirl - www.legendsofgotham.com

Barbara. Don’t be fooled, she’s a pitbull in a ball gown.

Barbara Kean - Gotham vs. Supergirl - www.legendsofgotham.com

Fish. This is one mob boss you do NOT want to cross.

Fish Mooney - Gotham vs. Supergirl - www.legendsofgotham.com

There really is no comparison. This fall on Mondays when you sit down to get your comic fix on the small screen remember there is room for everyone.

-Anne Marie